Archive for February 8th, 2009

Digista – or Dijisuta – Status and Hapi

My Japanese teacher told us that NHK World (a Japanese channel) can be viewed through Sky on channel 516! I have watched it lots since. Most of the programs are in English – even news is reported in English, and it broadcasts mainly programs that aim to introduce Japanese culture to foreigners, so don’t expect Japanese dorama there ;;^^. Nevertheless it is still very nice to have something Japanese on TV!

Digista Ep 343 Summary

Digista Ep 343 Summary

Have you guys heard of the NHK program Digista? Digista invites artists from all over the world to submit their digital artwork (often video) through the net, in which they will be judged and commented by professionals in the industry. Episode 343 was aired yesterday and I was watching it as I was eating my breakfast. Found some of the video fascinating. The first video was titled “Status”, created by Taketo Shinkai. You can watch it here. It is a simple story where all the characters are numbers! I don’t think I can describe it very well by writing: you have to watch it to understand ;;^^. It’s interesting that the artist illustrates the fact that appearance is not everything (for example, no 7 turning into 1 by removing her make-up and no 8 turning into infinity) through using numbers only! Very creative indeed.

There is another video named “Hapi” by Hiroco Ichinose. You can watch it here. It is really good as well. Very very meaningful. The artist attempts to show the invisible barrier that is always present between couples. Even though they are living under the same roof and that they try to care for the other’s needs and insecurities as much as they can, it is incredibly difficult to break the barrier. I feel that this is really true. It’s never easy to be ‘one’ with your significant other, since human beings are individual entities after all. “To be together is to compromise with each other” is the message that I got from watching this video.

I am glad that I found Digista on NHK! Definitely a rare gem in my opinion! I can’t wait to see more next week ^^.

Lala February issue

Lala February issue! One of of my monthly needs.

Lala Feb issue

Lala Feb issue

Since many English  manga translation groups have probably translated the chapters from Lala already, I won’t go into much detail about the chapters themselves. Instead I will pick out some interesting observations! 1st off…

Princess Kurou and prince Nozomi~

Princess Kurou and prince Nozomi~

We have Nozomi carrying Kurou princess-style! This will be the cover for the new PSP game Haruka 3 + Haruka 3 Izayoiki. I was speechless when I saw this… and thought “Gosh Nozomi you are the best! Good for protecting hot-headed brotherly-complex easily-embarassed Kurou!” XDD. I have never liked Kurou much, but after seeing this picture, I realise why! It’s because he is sleeping beauty in disguise XDD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Who is your favourite character in Haruka 3?

Continue reading ‘Lala February issue’



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers