Zettai Zetsumei Toshi 3 (Disaster Report 3)

At this time of the year, it is definitely not a good time to be playing games for a busy uni student. However I couldn’t help myself and I present to you my short review of Zettai Zetsumei Toshi 3 for the PSP!

zzt31

In the game, you can choose to be either male or female (a definite plus for me: games should have more female protagonist!). The story involves the protagonist trying to survive after a dreadful earthquake has hit a man-made island. He/she meets Saki: previously a nurse but quit to attempt a career as a singer, and Ayami: a shy high school girl. Trailer below:

During the game, there are many instances when you have to choose your responses, which gives rise to multiple endings similar to the ones in love simulation games. I really like this aspect because you can be a total idiot and give the most inappropriate responses and watch their reactions, such as seducing Saki to sit closer to you. Not recommended because it would most probably lead to a bad ending, but I did them anyway because it was fun XD;;. The style of the gameplay is similar to Tomb Raider/Metal Gear Solid: your character can jump, pick up items, run around… etc. As for its difficult, personally I am no good in this type of game but ZZT3 is not a problem for me: there are many save points and you can restore your HP and ‘stress-level’ often. At times, unexpected events occur which makes the disaster feels more real and exciting, for example, the road could crack while you are running or gas could suddenly leak. I always ALWAYS died when anything weird happens =.=!

Even though the story is not amazing, some parts of it are really touching and the music complements the story and the mood of the game very well. I absolutely love the theme song! I always want to cry a little whenever I listen to it… ;;^^. Genuine tips on survival are given as you encounter different situations, which I have found very useful if I were ever in the same situation real life. The downside of this game is that it is toooo short! I finished it in 3 days and I didn’t even play it constantly. I think I spent less than 10 hours on it in total.

Definitely a great game to pick up! The demo version is available here. It is only out in Japan so no English version yet, however you don’t need much Japanese to get through the game, it’s pretty self-explanatory with pictures and all. I have just finished an ending with Saki as the male protagonist and would probably start a new game+ to collect accessories and clothes. Even though I love it, Famicon magazine only gave it 28/40! It deserves a higher score! Has anyone played the game? What’s your opinion of the score?

5 Responses to “Zettai Zetsumei Toshi 3 (Disaster Report 3)”


  1. 1 adi May 5, 2009 at 12:44 am

    this is a good game…
    but it can be real frustating!!!
    aaaarrgh!!! (riped my hair…again)

    • 2 Stephanie Lee May 5, 2009 at 1:53 am

      Hello,
      I have finished the game already so if you need any help feel free to fire me any questions ^^. And I completely understand what you mean! I kept on dying because of the stupid camera angles at times… ;;._.

      • 3 pota June 29, 2009 at 10:34 pm

        hey,after i run away from the guys chasing me and have to hide in the hole in the wall me saki and azumi,theres this part where i have to take a rope.how do i get it?

  2. 4 Bret June 20, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    I Hope this comes out in america i tried thee demo from the playstation store. Does anyone know where i could find it online? Will it be hard, not knowing major japanese? I know little..

  3. 5 thomas June 30, 2009 at 1:15 am

    Why was Ayami almost killed near the end?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

