Garnet Cradle – First Impression

Started to play Garnet Cradle! I am playing it slowly because of exam and project, so I am not that far into the game. For those who do not know about Garnet Cradle, you can refer to my previous post for a summary of the story and the characters.

GarnetCradle07

I love every visual aspects of the game: from the backgrounds, the characters to the menu and even the control buttons. They are all so stunningly beautiful. Moreover, the smoothing music is another luxury that you don’t get in many Otome games. I am so in love with it that I will definitely purchase the soundtrack! The story progresses slowly: I have been playing for two hours or so and the protagonist has just entered Mifutafu. Even with the sheer amount of text, the game is not boring at all and I am enjoying every bits of it, but basic Japanese is essential to appreciate it fully. Onto the rant!

GarnetCradle08

"Call me Yunoki~" *dies*

At the beginning, Rihito-senpai congratulates the protagonist and Touya for being elected as the princess and the prince of the play. Rihito appears to be a nice person, sometimes he can be a little naughty and teases the protagonist. However I believe that he is your typical nice guy on the outside, not so nice on the inside. He is just too approachable and his niceness seems a little fake at times. He reminds me sooo much of Yunoki-senpai from La corda d’oro!

GarnetCradle09

Megane Touya = love

Touya appears unaware of that fact that he is elected as the prince. I nearly fell for him because I like intelligent, cool looking guys with GLASSES, and he has a BOOK. Double attack for me! Luckily I resisted thus plan to go for Sou still holds ;;^^.

Sou the protector *hearts*

Sou the protector *hearts*

Sou saves the protagonist from the annoying press in this CG. Both he and his twin sister Tsubaki serve the protagonist as her protectors. They treat each other as rivals and fight over the protagonist a lot. For example, Sou’s sister believes that he would attack the protagonist and ruin her purity. Sou fights back by making an oath that he would not harass the protagonist. I read that the CGs in his path are the most 18+ in the whole game.. Isn’t that going back on your oath Sou-kun XDD;;?

GarnetCradle01

Saariya threatening the protagonist. Forced her to admit that she is the holy Miko otherwise she would be killed. I didn’t take much notice of his threat: I was staring at his eyes and his wet shirt too much to care ;;^^.

GarnetCradle05

Another warning to the protagonist. This CG looks dodgy and gives people a wrong idea right? He is not threatening her in that way, he just wants her to be quiet and stay there because she wants to escape and find Tsubaki.

GarnetCradle03

A CG for the male readers. I don’t think there are any… nontheless isn’t the protagonist pretty here?

GarnetCradle02

Finally, more wet Saariya and that half-seen through shirt of his (o*_*)o. From what I have played so far, I am loving the game and will definitely play more. If you are playing Garnet Cradle like me, how are you finding it (please no spoilers)?

16 Responses to “Garnet Cradle – First Impression”


  1. 1 shu May 17, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    This is on my to play list! (but the list is quite long already Dx) Can’t wait to hear Tachibana Shinnosuke♪

    • 2 Stef Lee May 19, 2009 at 12:48 am

      What other games are on your playlist (sorry for being nosy XD)?

      • 3 shu May 19, 2009 at 6:20 am

        Hehe that’s ok!
        I’ve started persona 3 Fes, Final Fantasy 12, Sigma Harmonics, Real Rode (don’t like the dungeons though…), and FF dissida… but all these games take time to finish so I’ve kind of left them for the time being :/
        I can still find some time to play sengoku basara (but I’ve skipped through the story…) and taiko no tatsujin since the stages don’t take too long~

        If I do have all the time in the world I want to finish all those games and start on Garnet Cradle, Vitamin Z, Will O Wisp, Hiiro no Kakera, and Persona 3 and 4 in English…

        I seem to like wordy games :/ the list is so long~ I’m so nerdy~ .__.

      • 4 Stef Lee May 19, 2009 at 2:03 pm

        I have been playing most of the games on your list as well ;;XD! Working my way through Persona 3 FES (nearly finished), FF12, Sigma Harmonics and FF Dissida, but I have been busy and never got the time to finish.

        Vitamin Z~~~ I really need to start on that too… *_*

        Haha liking wordy games is good: at least most of them have a good storyline ^^!

      • 5 shu May 19, 2009 at 2:21 pm

        I tried to play fes right after finishing P3 but when I realized it was more of the same thing but HARDER I sort of gave up ^^;; How many hours did it take for you to nearly finish fes? I can’t decide which one to finish off first Dx

      • 6 Stef Lee May 19, 2009 at 2:28 pm

        I think it took me around 60 hours to nearly finish fes (not quite there yet, still have the final boss to deal with x_x)? I think you should finish off fes because P3 and fes are practically the same but fes has goodies I presume? And it’s easier as well ^^.

      • 7 shu May 19, 2009 at 3:43 pm

        Fes takes 60hours!? @_@;;; It took me around 90 hours to finish P3, buying P3 and fes together was a really great deal then! :0

  2. 8 Kikuchi May 19, 2009 at 3:08 am

    I have the japanese version right now, but i have absolutely no japanese knowledge ><! Does anyone know a source with the translated english game script or the japanese script so i can use an online translator =x

    • 9 Stef Lee May 19, 2009 at 12:14 pm

      Sorry I don’t know where you can get the Japanese script… but I know that there is definitely no English game script ;;^^. If you want a strategy guide, I can provide you with some Japanese websites.

  3. 10 Asukawati August 27, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Sariiya looks so sexy!!! XD XD XD
    I’m going to get this game next week and play it directly!!! XD

  4. 11 Amorsita23 September 25, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    Hey does this game have a translation in english?In other words, if I play this game can I play it in english ???

  5. 13 Mitxie November 19, 2009 at 10:56 am

    gosh i want this game. >.< but i don't know where to buy it :P
    will there be an english version for this game? :O

    • 14 Stef Lee November 22, 2009 at 4:19 pm

      You can buy it from amazon.co.jp, but you would need to get a carrier to buy for you… a little troublesome ;;^^. There is no English version for this game and I don’t think there will be. Otome games are not very popular outside of Japan unfortunately…

  6. 15 sandy enoch November 9, 2010 at 3:15 am

    what do you mean by carrier? what game systems will otome games work on? normal american ones?

    • 16 Stef Lee November 20, 2010 at 11:48 pm

      Hello Sandy,

      By carrier, I am referring to companies that act as middle-man. For example, if you want to buy stuffs from Amazon Japan/Yahoo Auction Japan, you wouldn’t be able to do it by yourself because you don’t have a Japanese address. The carrier provides the service of ordering the goods for you from those websites in Japan; get them shipped to their office in Japan and post the goods to you. They charges you a fee for the service. An example of a carrier is Tenso. You can read more about it on their website.

      Since Garnet Cradle is a Japanese PC game, I don’t think you can buy it from any English website, thus you would have to go through the carrier service to buy the game… which can be expensive ;;^^.

      With regards to the game systems, it will depend on what game you are referring to. PSP, PS3, DS and PC ones should work with NA ones, but PS2 ones will only work if you have a PS2 from Japan.

      Hope that I have answered some of your questions :).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

